Monica Denler No Comments

Michigan’s new Paid Medical Leave Act (“Act”) will go into effect on March 29, 2019. The Act only applies to employers who employ 50 or more employees. Exempt are FLSA exempt employees, private sector employees covered by a collective bargaining agreement, temporary workers, employees who work in other states, ICs, variable hour employees, certain part-time and seasonal employees and flight deck, cabin crew and railroad workers.

Michigan joins the following states who currently require paid sick leave:

  • Arizona
  • California
  • Connecticut
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • New Jersey
  • Oregon
  • Rhode Island
  • Vermont
  • Washington
  • Washington D.C.

The cities and counties with paid sick days laws that include paid “safe” days, which provide time for survivors of domestic violence, sexual assault, and stalking to seek services related to these incidents, include: San Francisco, Emeryville, San Diego, Los Angeles, Berkeley and Santa Monica (Calif.); Washington, D.C.; Seattle, Tacoma and Spokane (Wash.); Philadelphia (Pa.); Montgomery County (Md.); Chicago and Cook County (Ill).; Minneapolis, St. Paul and Duluth (Minn.); New Brunswick (N.J.); and Austin (Texas).

Colorado does not require any paid sick leave to any employee. There are no federal statutes requiring paid sick leave.